top 5 wednesday | april 5

Slide1.PNG

This is my first top 5 Wednesday post. Hoorah!

I first learned of Top 5 Wednesday from Sam thoughtsontomes’s Youtube channel (check her out, I love her videos!), and afterward I, of course, joined the group on Goodreads and immediately began planning my future blog posts. I’m aware that there’s also a Top Ten Tuesday that goes around the book blogosphere, but those prompts didn’t quite resonate with me? Also, is it just me or is 10 a lot more intimidating than 5? Yeah, it probably is just me. But alas, I’m going to stick with Top 5 Wednesday for now.

Today’s prompt: Top Science-Fiction / Fantasy Books on Your TBR

Oh man. Let’s just say I definitely have more than five science-fiction and fantasy books on my TBR. My TBR is basically made of ONLY science-fiction and fantasy books. Especially thanks to my recent revelation that fantasy is my favorite genre, my home, my comfort place–something I hadn’t really acknowledged before. I’m weird, I know.

Now, I’m going to force myself to narrow things down by not including upcoming releases. This list is the top 5 books I’m most likely to pick up next (which means I’ll likely have read them by the end of the month, honestly).

Here we go! *in no particular order*

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

1. The Stormlight Archive series by Brandon Sanderson
I’m including this whole series (just two books, SO FAR) because I can. I’m on a Sanderson kick and I’m super interested to see if he really can pull off creating an entirely different world apart from the Mistborn world and manage to get me invested in the characters just as much. I’ve also heard his writing is so great in this series and that it’s really his shining moment, so obviously I need to know if this is true. I will probably get these from the library next time I go.

2. Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones
I recent bought this one and I’m really excited to try it. Anything Hades/Persephone immediately intrigues me, AND I’ve heard that this really is kind of unexpectedly sultry. I need somma that in my life, please and thanks.

2017-03-21 08.01.43 1.jpg
“Lush, sexy, and gorgeous” = YES PLZ

3. The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers
Again, I bought this one recently and it seems different than what I’d usually read but also very interesting. I’m super into character-driven stories, so this seems like it’ll be a good fit. Fingers crossed I’ll actually like it. I mean, I’m already half in love with it thanks to the gorgeous cover, so let’s see if I’ll be all the way in love thanks to the book itself as well.

4. Red Rising series by Pierce Brown
I’ve had this series on my TBR for a while but recently became more interested because I saw an interview of Pierce Brown on Youtube and his gorgeous majesty was revealed to me (see below). Damn. *fans self* Now I need to know if such a beautiful human can really write something great. If so, I shall be falling hard. The book summary sounds interesting enough, so we’re off to a good start.

pb.png
Cute boy + cute puppy = me dead. (Go look at his instagram, you won’t be sorry.)

5. This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
After reading the Shades of Magic series by V.E. Schwab, I knew I wanted to read as much of her writing as I could! This Savage Song seems like a good place to start, although I’m not sure how I’ll like a book with absolutely ZERO romance. Not knowing if a book will have romance going into it is very different than deliberately picking up a book that you already know is romanceless, right? But I have to say that some of my favorite parts of the Shades of Magic series were NOT about romance at all; in fact, my favorite relationship was the one of brothership between Kell and Rhy. So I think Schwab might be able to pull this off for me.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

And that’s it! Like I said before, I have WAY more science-fiction and fantasy books on my TBR, not to mention upcoming releases that I’m SO excited for! But these are the five I’m most likely to read next. 🙂

What science-fiction and fantasy books are you excited to read soon? Do you have any recommendations for me that I should read before these five? Leave your thoughts in a comment below!

Until next time,
Brianne

One thought on “top 5 wednesday | april 5

Leave a comment!

