book review | warbreaker by brandon sanderson

Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson

My Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆

Warbreaker centers around five main characters: two sisters, two gods, and the Warbreaker. Two countries, Idris and Hallandren, are on the brink of war, and the king of Idris sends off his daughter to marry the God King of Hallandren to fulfill their treaty and hopefully appease his enemies. Except, he sends his younger daughter Siri, instead of the expected older sister, Vivenna. Suddenly, Siri finds herself completely unprepared in the city of T’Telir, about to marry the all-powerful God King, and Vivenna finds herself purposeless. She decides to take on a new mission: to save her sister and take her rightful place as wife of the God King. However, she find herself pulled into more than she expected in T’Telir, something a reluctant god, Lightsong, is also starting to discover on his side of the city. And finally, Vasher, the Warbreaker, is wreaking havoc for mysterious reasons, with his sentient sword Nightblood. All five of them play important roles in shaping the events in T’Telir as they resist–or provoke–the war.

Recommended if you like:

  • High fantasy
  • Multiple POVs
  • Slow-developing yet intricate story lines
  • Characters with chemistry and dynamic relationships

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

My Spoiler-Free Review

I finished this book days ago and I’m still thinking about it. Just when I wondered if it was really possible Brandon Sanderson was the writing god I suspected, I read this.

This book, guys. It ticks all the boxes.

✓ Well-developed, super interesting fantasy world!
✓ Dynamic, interesting characters!
✓ Teasing romance and burning chemistry!
✓ Just the right amount of action!
✓ Political intrigue and questioning religion!
✓ Ridiculously satisfying ending!

I just adored this book. I wish there could be more in this world (and maybe there will be someday?), but it did work really well as a standalone. Sanderson wrapped everything up and left the reader satisfied yet hopeful for the future of the characters, yet also mourning bittersweetly over those who didn’t make it. (It’s a Sanderson book–yes, there were deaths. Bah.)

I can’t help but marvel again how Sanderson creates such great characters, who have amazing  chemistry with each other, AND puts them into these amazingly, intricately developed fantasy worlds. I was hesitant that I wouldn’t like his other books because I so enjoyed the Mistborn world, but Hallandren and the magic of BioChromatic breath sucked me in (ha) and didn’t let me go. I’m not sure I loved the magic as much as the Mistborn world, but it was still so well written. I wish we could have seen even more regarding the use of BioChromatic breath–we didn’t really see what it was or what one could do with it until much further on in the book. But still–super cool.

And can I just gush about the characters a minute? These characters are all working out their role in their world, yet they’re all so unique, with clear motives and problems they want to solve. I love that Sanderson’s characters question themselves and their beliefs, and come out better for struggling through it. They all manage to niggle their ways into my heart for different reasons, and I just love them dearly!

Warbreaker is definitely less action-packed than some of Sanderson’s other novels, but it worked for me. I could see how other readers might find it slow, but the politics and the developing relationships were enough to propel me forward (and even look ahead in a few spots, oops). I mean, c’mon…who WOULDN’T keep reading for more of Siri and the God King? Sanderson did a better job writing a fantastic romance than most supposedly dreamy YA authors I’ve read lately.

Overall: again, this book ticked all my boxes and then some. I loved it. I think especially women would enjoy this book, but Sanderson has a great way of writing to appeal to a broad audience. Basically: READ THIS BOOK. You won’t regret it.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Have you read Warbreaker? What did you think of it? Leave your thoughts below!

Until next time,
Brianne

2 thoughts on “book review | warbreaker by brandon sanderson

  1. Ugh… I’ve been meaning to read Brandon Sanderson forever!! Someday. But this looks so so good!! I love slow stories with complex character/plot lines, so I totally want to read this now. Wonderful review!!

    Like

Leave a comment!

