top 5 wednesday | april 26

Slide1.PNG

I’m back again for another Top 5 Wednesday!

If you don’t already know, Top 5 Wednesday is run by Sam thoughtsontomes. Here’s the Goodreads group if you’re interesting in learning more or joining in on the fun!

Today’s prompt: Authors You Want to Read More From

This is actually a weirdly hard prompt for me, because I’m the kind of reader who discovers a new favorite author and immediately inhales everything they’ve written. I’m sure (*I hope*) I’m not the only one like that out there!

However, since I’ve been kind of out of the reading game these past few years, I’ve been frantically catching up on what I’ve missed. As such, I just haven’t had enough time to inhale all the words by some authors I’ve recently discovered.

So, without further ado or useless commentary on my behalf, let’s get started!

1. Brandon Sanderson

Returning readers, are you starting to see a theme on my blog?

I am currently mid-inhale with Brandon Sanderson, and I can’t seem to stop reading his books or gushing about them on this blog. But I can’t bring myself to really care! I just love his unique fantasy worlds, his straightforward writing, and his positively epic stories.

Also, I find it just the Coolest Thing Ever that his books are all somehow connected, even in the tiniest of ways, and that there’s this broader scope to the universe (ahem, excuse me, the Cosmere) he’s created. SO. COOL. Can I be like Brandon Sanderson? In your dreams, Brianne.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
Only *slightly* embarrassing how many Sanderson books I currently have in my posession. (And I have one more on the way…)

2. Victoria Schwab

Around the end of February and beginning of March, I read the Darker Shade of Magic trilogy by V.E. Schwab, and I loved it! Oh man, those characters got me so emotional. Kell and Rhy! *wipes away tear* I adore them.

I’ve heard lots of good things about Victoria Schwab’s other books, and they all seem especially unique, from each other and from other popular books these days. I’m hoping to pick up another one of hers in the next month or so!

3. Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

I might be breaking the rules by lumping these two together, but hear out my reasoning! The only books I’ve read by these two were ones they wrote together, the first two books in the Illuminae Files series. Holy moly, how cool are those books! I was so skeptical over the mere design of these books, but they were so great. Again–what characters! If they could make me care about characters who I learned about only through journal entries, interviews, and the like, I’m super intrigued to see what these authors could do in a more traditional novel.

4. Maggie Stiefvater

I’ve kind of had a change of heart with Maggie Stiefvater, although it’s not really all that dramatic. When I was in high school, I picked up her Shiver series from the library, and I thought they were all right but didn’t quite hold my attention. Back then I had the TERRIBLE habit of skimming through books, whether I was enjoying them or not. (I know, I’m cringing as I write this!) So, of course, I skimmed through the Shiver series, and, of course, completely ruined my entire reading experience.

Now, though, I’d like to go back and re-read those books because I realized how amazing Maggie Stievater is after I read the Raven Cycle last year. Oh, those books were so mystical and creepy and heart-wrenching. I had just the best experience binging that series, and have come to follow Maggie on social media and learn just how awesome she is. The rest of her works are on my eventual TBR.

5. Rick Riordan

Rick Riordan! Ending this list with a bang! How great is the Percy Jackson series? I read them while in college but still ADORED them. For me, it was one of those rare cases where I saw the movie and enjoyed it enough that I wanted to pick up the book. (Might’ve also had something to do with Logan Lerman, can’t lie about that.)

Image result for logan lerman
I mean, how cute is he? Such a sweet babe.

I started reading the Heroes of Olympus series after, but college got too busy and I never finished. Now, I’m hearing that the Magnus Chase series is Super Great, so again, all of Rick Riordan’s series are on my eventual TBR.

And there you have it! What authors would you like to read more from? If you’ve read from any of these five (six, technically), which books would you recommend I read first?

Until next time,
Brianne

2 thoughts on “top 5 wednesday | april 26

  1. This is a fun list!! I really liked Victoria Schwab’s This Savage Song. I haven’t read ADSOM though-someday! And of course, Rick Riordan is always fun!

    Like

Leave a comment!

