top 5 wednesday | may 24

I’m back again for another Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday is run by Sam thoughtsontomes. Check out the Goodreads group if you’re interested in learning more or joining in on the fun!

Today’s prompt: Favorite Minor Characters

Note that today is all about minor characters and not side characters. So I’ll be talking about those characters who only make a small appearance in the book but are still named and important–and whom I love very much despite their minimal screen time.

Let’s get into it!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

1. Dobby from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

tumblr_oju2qsmx1h1uk58d3o2_12801.png
art by zquadlocks @ tumblr

Oh, Dobby! He creates so much trouble for Harry in The Chamber of Secrets, but it’s only because he cares! How much Dobby loves Harry gets me every time. I loved how he popped up throughout the books, and the important role he ended up playing in The Deathly Hallows! He really stands for all of those who are underestimated yet rise to the task and succeed. Also, I don’t know if I’ve ever cried as hard as I did when he died in the last book.

2. Spook (AKA Lestibournes) from The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

Spook eventually becomes a more important character as this series goes on, but in book one he is such a random misfit teenager within the group of mature characters. I loved him immediately. He is so shyly into Vin, speaks in this bizarre (and entertaining, and confusing) dialect (for example, “Wasing the where of needing”), and is sweet with his uncle. I was super excited when I kept reading the series and got more of him!

 

3. Matthew from The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

tumblr_o4orb1Wf9P1r8464lo1_r1_1280.png
art by aymmichurros @ tumblr

Matthew is just sunshine personified. How can you not love him? I love how sweet and innocent he is, and how much he loves his brothers. Also, he’s an actual dream thing? That Ronan dreamt up? Because he wanted a little buddy? I will never get over that (and I will never get over Ronan Lynch, straight up). I really just want the best for Matthew, and I care deeply about his well-being.

4. Kuwei from the Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo

I’m not sure Kuwei should really be on this list; first, because he’s nearly a side character but not quite, and second, because we have a hate-to-love relationship going on. I hated Kuwei in this series. He’s just the worst! He always has some snarky comment he has to add in or he’s otherwise getting in the way and not contributing to the success of the group. (Not to mention his intervention between Jesper and Wylan…grrr.) But I know he’s really just a helpless kid and honestly, his bits in the books were just the right amounts of exasperating and amusing. I guess he deserves a bit of recognition.

5. Bridge Four from The Stormlight Archive by Brandon Sanderson

tumblr_nxm1j8knpP1rz3l0to1_1280.png
art by tigonxz @ tumblr

I couldn’t resist doing more Sanderson…I know, I have a problem. But Bridge Four, you guys! They are all the best. I adore the way they all bond over their late-night stew and follow Kaladin like the fearless leader he is. Rock in particular was one of my favorites; his way of speaking and silly comments are always the perfect comedic relief. Not to mention how he has this hidden talent for archery but only wants to be a chef. What a sweet, lovable Horneater.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

And there you have it. As usual, this was harder than expected! Who would make your list of favorite minor characters?

Until next time,
Brianne

8 thoughts on “top 5 wednesday | may 24

  1. I haven’t read any of these books except SoC and Harry Potter, but they all sound so fun! I didn’t like Kuwei either – he was super annoying – but that kiss cracked me up. I mean, how can you mess something up THAT BAD?? xD. Great list!!

    Like

  2. Spook! Bridge Four! You and I are officially best friends now. I know right, it’s impossible to do a list without Sanderson. Was actually considering just doing minor characters from his books hahah. I wanted to go with Lopen (and his cousins + Mom), I fell in love with him on his first appearance, but chose to stick with minor characters that only appear once or twice.

    Like

    1. Yes! I saw that you had Sanderson on your list too, and I was like IMMEDIATE FOLLOW! (And also I simply found it hysterical that The Stick made your list, but what a perfect fit.) He just has such a great way of making all of his characters, even the minor ones, matter and have shining personalities. I love them all!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment!

