top 5 wednesday | june 28

I’m back again for another Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday is run by Sam thoughtsontomes. Check out the Goodreads group if you’re interested in learning more or joining in on the fun!

Today’s prompt: Hate to Love ships

The hate turning into love trope is probably one of my favorites. It’s just the greatest! The two characters hate each other to start and then positively drown themselves in denial when they start having feelings for each other. Once they finally come to accept their love, they then go through the stages of depression and sorrow because they think their love is unrequited. UNTIL THEY FIND IT’S NOT. Then the two of them get to live happily ever after.

I mean, who WOULDN’T love that?! Am I a monster for loving that? Yes, maybe so.

Let’s get into it! These are listed in no particular order.

(By the way, this post is a little spoilery in term of ships–obviously–so read at your own risk!)

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

1. Feyre and Rhysand from the ACOTAR series by Sarah J Maas

I couldn’t not start with these two. For all the issues I have with this series, the one thing I will always love is the relationship between Feyre and Rhysand. They go on such a journey together, and it all starts with Feyre hating him. He’s the bad guy! Until she realizes he’s not really bad…at all! Their relationship evolves in such a wonderful way, and they are pretty much #relationshipgoals.

MY BABIES ARE DONE. *dies*Rhys & Feyre, looking all High Lord & Ladylike. This was soooo much fun to work on and I’ve already ranted and raved about how much I love these two… and everyone else in ACOMAF… and Sarah… and Prints are available over on...
art by Charlie Bowater

2. Mariko and Okami from Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh

I just read this book, and already I am such a fan of these two. I just LOVE the girl-disguised-as-a-boy trope, not to mention the boy-falling-in-love-with-the-girl-disguised-as-a-boy trope! And combined with hate-to-love…I’m dead.

But seriously, these two were so cute and sweet and I WANT MORE OF THEM NOW PLEASE.

3. Nina and Matthias from the Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo

Okay these two seriously hurt me. SERIOUSLY. They come from two opposing worlds and any sort of attraction they might feel is supremely rejected from the beginning. But, of course, that changes. And then they become so sweet together. So, so sweet. Overcoming their differences in background puts their relationship on a deeper level, I think. And Matthias treats Nina like the queen she is.

(But also, this ship brings me TRUE PAIN come Crooked Kingdom. Gah.)

art by phantomrin

4. Siri and the God King from Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson

These two are the cutest ever. They are both the purest little cinnamon rolls you could ever imagine! Siri has an arranged marriage with the God King, taking the place of her sister, and goes into it with so many preconceived notions about what he’s like. She hates him, and all he stands for. Except, she knows nothing. Once she starts to get a clue, things change and, guh. They are so adorable.

5. Ron and Hermione from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Last but not least. Obviously, these two have a long bout of friendship between the hate and love, but I think they still fit in this category! If it weren’t for the incident with the troll, I think Hermione would have gone right on hating Ron and Harry for quite a while. As it is, becoming friends and developing a deep relationship with each other made that hate lessen over the years. Friends to lovers is another favorite trope, and it always felt inevitable with Romione.

Ref
art by upthehillart

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

There you have it! My top 5 hate to love ships. Who are YOUR favorite hate to love ships? Comment down below!

Until next time,
Brianne

6 thoughts on “top 5 wednesday | june 28

  1. I definitely agree about Ron and Hermione. So many people forget that they did not get along at first – at all! I can’t say I love them together, but there is definitely something there that works. Great list!

    Brianna at Listful Booking

    Like

      1. When I first read the books I wanted Hermione and Harry to end up together so maybe I’m still bitter. lol

        Like

Leave a comment!

