june wrap-up

It’s that time of the month…

I wasn’t around the blogosphere very much during the beginning of June…oops! I went through a reading slump, and I think that also affected by blogging motivation. But I’m back, for now anyway! And I have a few posts queued up for the next few weeks, so I’ll hopefully be around during July too.

Read on for my monthly wrap-up!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

bookish things

stats

  • Total books: 6 books and 1 audiobook
  • Total pages: 2,725 pages read and 393 listened
  • Longest book: Morning Star by Pierce Brown
  • Shortest book: Red Rising by Pierce Brown
  • Favorite book: Morning Star by Pierce Brown
  • Least favorite book: The Kiss of Deception by Mary E Pearson

(most beautiful covers, June edition)

mini reviews

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch: ★★★ 1/2

Don’t tell anyone, but I blame my reading slump on this book. It took me forever to get through, and while I think I liked it, I think I also disliked it? It wasn’t quite what I expected it to be, and while I adored the characters, the writing just wasn’t for me.

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E Pearson: ★★★

This book felt like another typical YA read; enjoyable but definitely a few issues going on with it. The love triangle for once wasn’t terrible, and I didn’t even mind the main character, but the story wasn’t in any way exciting or original for me.

Red Rising series by Pierce Brown: ★★★★★

I’m giving this series an overall 5 stars, even though I rated the first two books only 4 stars. However, with how much I loved the final book and how it really completed the journey, I think the overall series is worthy of 5 stars. It’s a definite new favorite series, and I can’t wait to read more from this world next year! Please read if your love space and excellent characters and character development.

Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh: ★★★★

I listened to this on audiobook, so a few of the details were lost on me. But overall, I really enjoyed this! It’s not really a Mulan retelling, but it IS unique in terms of YA. Plus, I didn’t find Mariko annoying, and I definitely swooned over Okami. So, success. Can’t wait for the next one!

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers: ★★★★

This book is just lovely. It’s much more of a character study, and not action-packed, but I think it’s really hard to dislike this book for that or for any other reason. The world and the characters are amazing and full of depth, and the book is thought-provoking and heart-warming.

DNFed

The Trials of Apollo by Rick Riordan

I didn’t really mean to DNF this one; I would have finished it if it didn’t become due at the library. However, the fact remains that I did set it aside and could have finished it if I really wanted before returning it. I was enjoying it well enough, but like I said in previous posts, I think I’ve grown out of Rick Riordan’s books.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

crafty things

Once again, I kept myself busy with crochet this month! I started a bajillion projects and finished hardly anything. But I still love it. I’m also still thinking about an Etsy shop, but for now I’m more focused on finishing some projects and also getting an Instagram started! You can now find me at @briannecrochets if you’re interested.

completed

  • thermos cozy — this was dearly needed
  • various baby hats
  • chevron gray and maroon afghan for my sister — finish today, on her birthday!

in progress

  • hexagon blanket-turned pillow cover — I made the tiniest bit of progress on this!
  • body pillow cover — this is still going, ran out of yarn though
  • white and purple star blanket
  • round yellow cushion cover
  • mint green and pink chevron baby blanket

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

bloggish things

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

How was your month of June? What was your favorite book you read or crafty thing you made?

Until next time,
Brianne

6 thoughts on “june wrap-up

  1. Your cozies are so pretty!! I used to knit and crochet, but haven’t for years. This makes me want to start up again!
    I just wanted to say I LOVE that you use your library. I sometimes feel like I’m the only one (which is silly) so it’s nice to see that there are others like me! 😀
    I’ve been curious about Red Rising for a long time. I’ll have to try it someday. I’m glad you liked it!
    Great post!

    Like

    1. Thank you! You SHOULD start up again! I find it so fun and relaxing.

      And yes; I would never be able to read as much as I do if it weren’t for the library. I feel like other bloggers say, “Oh, I have no money! I can’t buy books!” BUT THEN THEY GO AND BUY THE BOOKS. I actually cannot do that, haha. And since my ARC game is nonexistent, the library it is!

      I totally recommend Red Rising! Not sure if it’d be quite your thing, but I really did love the series! 🙂

      Like

  2. Your crafty things are gorgeous! And SO MUCH LOVE FOR RED RISING AHHHHH. I love that series and I have the audio out of book 1 so I can reread it and flail for ever. 😍 I also thought Kiss of Deception was a massive letdown haha.😂 Just felt very samey to too many other books. Ah well.
    I hope your July has many amazing reads for you too!

    Like

    1. Thanks!! I know they totally don’t fit into a book blog, but I love them so much, I just don’t care haha.

      YASSS Red Rising! I really loved it. I need to get the book or the audio or SOMETHING so I can also reread and flail for ever. I would be happy to do that for eternity.

      Thanks for visiting my blog! (Not gonna lie, I fangirled a bit when I first saw your comment!)

      Like

    1. Oh thanks! I like it a lot too! I can’t take credit; I think I mashed up a few different styles I’ve seen for wrap-ups.

      I totally encourage you to do some wrap up and book hauls and such! They are my favorite to write AND read. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment!

