top 5 wednesday | july 5

I’m back again for another Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday is run by Sam @ thoughtsontomes. Check out the Goodreads group if you’re interested in learning more or joining in on the fun!

Today’s prompt: Books Without Romance

Initially I thought, “Hey! This might be easy! It’s definitely not as hard as everyone makes it out to be. There are plenty of books without romance.”

WRONG, Brianne. This list was actually pretty hard. But I managed it, without too much cheating anyway!

Let’s get into it!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

I feel like this one is going to feature on many people’s lists today, because this book has been marketed and raved about as a long-anticipated YA book without romance!

Now, when I read this, I did notice a few hints of romance, a few bits that were VERY close to crossing the line of a little romantic thing going on. But, the characters never crossed the line completely. I’m not sure if that will stay true in the final book of the duology or not. I’ll find out soon enough, as I have it freshly checked out from the library right now!

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

 

art by @evilienne

Yes, another Schwab, but this one is one of her adult books. And again, there are HINTS of romance here, but it was developed a LOT less than I initially expected when I started reading this book. In fact, I really loved how subtle the romance was…and I almost wish it had stayed that way throughout the rest of the series. Alas, it did not. But I enjoyed it while it lasted in this first book. Kell + Lila’s friendship = heart eyes.

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

I know this is a children’s series, so romance isn’t necessarily expected, but I still wanted to include this series because it is my favorite! If I had to pick only one series to read for the rest of my life, I think it’d have to be Chronicles of Narnia–even over Harry Potter! I know, it’s practically blasphemy!

But these characters are so wonderful, the stories hold a lot of meaning for me, and the lack of romance has never been an issue at all.

The Alloy of Law by Brandon Sanderson

art by @jurassicpencil

Yep. I had to do it! I had to mention Sanderson at least once within this post otherwise it wouldn’t be fit for my blog.

But hey, this book totally fits here! There are very small tidbits of romance in this book, but they’re mostly unrequited and very fleeting. Although I am bitter about the way the romance changes in the next few books of this series, I certainly did enjoy its very quiet, subtle presence in this book. It’s a lot more focused on the friendship developing between Wax, Wayne, and Marasi, and I loved it!

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (aka J.K. Rowling)

I read this a few years ago, so hopefully my memory’s not faulty, but I don’t remember any romance in this book. I was super skeptical about this because I normally don’t go for adult mysteries, and I also had no clue if J.K. Rowling could manage to write anything I’d like after the majesty of Harry Potter.

But she did! I really enjoyed this book and the characters. There’s a great (platonic) relationship between Cormoran Strike and his secretary, Robin. I need to get on with reading the rest of the series!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

There you have it! My top 5 books without romance. What are YOUR favorite books without romance? Comment down below!

Until next time,
Brianne

One thought on “top 5 wednesday | july 5

Leave a comment!

