top 5 wednesday | july 26

I’m back again for another Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday is run by Sam at thoughtsontomes. Check out the Goodreads group if you’re interested in learning more or joining in on the fun.

Today’s prompt: Series that got better

Technically, I suppose I can’t really call this post a Top 5 Wednesday post. Why, you ask? Because my list down below only includes 4 series I’ve read that got better.

I know, I’m a poser! But I can’t think of another series that really should be included, and at the same time, I do want to gush about the ones I can think of.

So, this week we’re doing Top 4 Wednesday.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

2017-07-25 02.29.51 1.jpg

I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one who wasn’t quite feeling the vibe of this series when I started off with book one. The Raven Boys is really just a huge set up for the rest of the series; not necessarily how you want to start things off.

However, I knew this series had a big group of followers, and I figured I should persevere for at least one book more. So, I read The Dream Thieves, and LET ME TELL YOU. My perseverance was worth it. That book alone is legitimately SO cool, and it totally sold me on Maggie Stiefvater’s writing and this series. The rest of the series was really enjoyable–by which I mean Stiefvater tore my heart out and stomped on it–and I would highly recommend The Raven Cycle for any and all readers.

Mistborn series by Brandon Sanderson

2017-07-25 02.29.49 1.jpg

This series is so great, it almost feels like it shouldn’t be on this list. Book one–The Final Empire–was such a strong start to the series; however, each book somehow surpassed the one before it. My mind was constantly blown as I read this series, and just when I thought Sanderson couldn’t make things any more epic, he did.

Some readers thought book two–The Well of Ascension–wasn’t the greatest, but I firmly do NOT hold that opinion. I loved it, and I especially loved Hero of Ages, the final book in the trilogy. Sanderson’s writing is so strong, his characters so dynamic, and this series really was an astounding first trilogy from him.

Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Call me crazy, but when I first started Six of Crows, I didn’t understand the hype. I enjoyed the book, I did–(please don’t hurt me!)–but I personally don’t love flashback-heavy stories and didn’t quite connect to all the characters.

HOWEVER. I continued the duology, and Crooked Kingdom blew me away. Such a strong book, amazing characters, and nonstop action. I loved it. I also possibly sobbed my heart out when ONE CERTAIN THING happened toward the end. Nonetheless, I finally understood the hype and would certainly revisit the series again.

Red Rising series by Pierce Brown

2017-06-21 10.12.17 1.jpg

This series actually has a unique place on this list, because the reason it got better is a little different. This series seemed to evolve as it went on, and as I read, I almost wondered if Pierce Brown did it intentionally or if it just sort of happened as he developed the story. Either way, IT WORKS.

This series starts with Darrow joining a rebellion without truly believing in it himself. This made Red Rising, book one, hard to engage in. I didn’t really understand Darrow’s motives for all he was doing and putting himself through, and it felt like that wouldn’t change as the series went on.

But, of course, it did. He went on an amazing personal growth journey, one that really made me believe in him, root for him, and totally invest in his story. Plus, the plot in each book also became more and more epic, with new characters, new worlds, and new hurdles to overcome. This is definitely a new favorite series, and one I’d highly recommend to any sci-fi lover.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

There you have it! My top 5 4 series that got better. What are YOUR favorite series that got better? Do you have any recommendations that could become the fifth on my list? Comment down below!

Until next time,
Brianne

8 thoughts on “top 5 wednesday | july 26

  1. Pingback: Summer Book Tag
  2. I’ve only read SoC from this list and the first Mistborn book. I’m glad to hear that series gets better because I didn’t love it, but I thought the idea was great. Some series I thought got better were The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski and The Lunar Chronicles!
    Great post!!

    Like

Leave a comment!

