the curse of crochet

If you’ve read any of my monthly wrap-up posts, you know that I include a little section about my “crafty” things because I’ve been crocheting like crazy since the start of the year. Obviously, I am still obsessed with crochet, but also…it feels like a curse sometimes. Here are some reasons why.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

1. It has ruined television watching for me.

Why? Because I can no longer sit still and watch a TV show for an hour straight–heck, even half an hour straight–unless it’s a series I’m super into (Game of Thrones, anyone?). I NEED to keep my hands busy and my mind slightly occupied. What better way to do that than work on a crochet project?! My fingers start twitching if I go too long watching something without crocheting.

2. It has eaten my bank account.

This one is pretty self explanatory. Suddenly I have no money for fun things because oops, I spent $30 on yarn. For the second time this week.

*shrugs*

3. It steals time away from reading.

How rude is it that I started to love crochet right as I rekindled my love for reading? Now I feel like a kid, forced to split up her time between her divorced parents: one night I get to read, the next night I have to crochet. I’m bitter that my eyeballs can’t work independently, so I can have one to read, one to work on crochet. (How awesome would that be?!)

4. I’m pale as heck and it’s crochet’s fault.

Because, see, crochet is an indoor activity. At least, it is for me. When you have endless supplies, balls of yarn, and are working on a huge afghan, going outside in 75 degree weather to crochet doesn’t sound nice. Crochet is a perfect activity for winter, when you can curl up inside, by the fire, with a mug of cocoa. NOT for summer, when you need to get outside and soak up the Vitamin D.

5. It’s addicting.

Or maybe it’s just me. But with crochet, there is so much to learn, so many possibilities, so many challenging projects to take on. My ideas are endless! As soon as I finish one project, I immediately want to start another. I WILL NEVER ESCAPE. (Not that I want to.)

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

So there it is. Crochet is a curse, an addiction, a money- and time-sucking hobby. But, I still love it with all my heart.

Stay tuned as I finish up some projects and attempt to take some decent pictures to share on the blog soon.

Until next time,
Brianne

 

3 thoughts on “the curse of crochet

Leave a comment!

